Professional Learning

Hey Now, Who Are Your All Stars?

 

allstarsquadronrollcall
Image from The Phantom Lady Archives vol. 1.2

We are working with HR right now on a program called Attracting Top Talent. I wanted to be on the project at first because I thought it was going to be like America’s Got Talent and I’d get to judge magicians and stuff. I was wrong though. It’s about hiring the best possible candidate for open positions at the college. Even though it’s not what I thought I was signing up for, I am excited to be on the project!

The benefits of hiring the top talent out there are obvious, but it’s not obvious how to attract them. HR has some great ideas on how to do so. We are working with them to turn those ideas into some training for anyone at the college involved in the hiring process. As we analyze the type of content to focus the training on, Colin from HR came up with an activity that helped us frame our thoughts: Come up with your top 5 All Stars in your field. The top people who you would wish we could hire here. Dream Candidates for each of the categories listed below. From there we would be able to think of what it would take to get someone like that to come to Fleming.

Leader, Innovator, Risk Taker, Team Player, Critical Thinker

Now, aside from how it would help the hiring process here, doing this activity also really helped me personally. It made me think about whom I look up to in the field and focused me on what I need to do, professional learning wise, to be more like them.

So, here in this blog post I will show you my results for this activity. I will tell you who I picked and why. Try it for yourself when you get the chance!

Terry Greene’s Top 5 Instructional Technology All Star Team

Top Leader: Gardner Campbell, Vice Provost for Learning and Student Success at Virginia Commonwealth University, http://www.gardnercampbell.net/blog1/ Gardner writes to promote putting learning in the hands of the learner especially in this article: A Personal Cyberinfrastructure

Top Innovator: Adam Croom, Director of Digital Learning at the University of Oklahoma http://adamcroom.com/. Oklahoma University have done some exciting things with Domain of One’s Own and the OU Creates where students can claim their own hosted webspace, populated with WordPress and other apps to help them create. This allows the students to post and reflect on their work in their own space that they control. And The Goblin is a pretty awesome looking faculty development model.

Top Risk Taker: Jim Groom used to run the  Division of Teaching and Learning at the University of Mary Washington, blogs at http://bavatuesdays.com/, runs https://reclaimhosting.com/ and I’m pretty sure coins a new term and starts a new ed-tech trend every couple of days.

Top Team Player: The top team player doesn’t do it for the glory, s/he does it to make things happen. My choice for top team player is Alan Levine, who makes things happen. Check out his blog: The CogDogBlog.

Top Critical Thinker: Audrey Watters: “I am an education writer, an independent scholar, a serial dropout, a rabble-rouser, and ed-tech’s Cassandra.” Hack Education blog. She can really rip apart and rebuild the big ideas.

If you’re interested in sharing your top 5, send them our way and we’ll post them here! LDSTeam@flemingcollege.ca

Thanks for reading!

Terry

The image in this post was found at The Digital Comic Museum

One thought on “Hey Now, Who Are Your All Stars?

  1. This is a great exercise Terry and Colin and I have been contemplating it on and off over the past day. Here are the three I have come up with so far…

    • Top risk taker – John Taylor Gatto, Author of Dumbing Us Down: The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling
    • Top team player – Marilyn Laiken, Director, Masters Certificate in Adult Training and Development at Schulich Executive Education Centre, Schulich School of Business, York University and CODI and former OISE professor
    • Top critical thinker – Brian Hodges, Senior Strategic Advisor at Associated Medical Services, University Health Network, UofT and UofT professor

    Every time I think about leaders I end up with historical figures but I will keep pondering.

    Thanks Jennifer

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

